PARK(ing) Day, September 19

This is one of those quirky little things grown suddenly large, a largeness that I, in my cynical or conservative way, find a little suspicious if not regrettable. I also look askance at the mingling of whimsy and earnestness. Still, I am glad to hear about it.

Park(ing) Day NYC is an effort of the New York City Streets Renaissance which offers individuals and groups small grants to turn more than 50 parking spots throughout New York City’s 5 boroughs into human-friendly places for a single day.

People put down grass, have picnics, engage in advocacy in temporarily transformed parking spaces. I heard about it through the High Line blog; the Friends of the High Line will be setting up at Ninth Avenue between 19th and 20th Streets. There are lots more planned around the city, though I was not surprised to see that my work neighborhood, the Upper East Side, is practically park(ing)less.

Leave a Reply

