Janus, the god who looks both ways

I seem to have misplaced my bronze liver model, not to mention the hot and dripping sacrificial animal’s organ to be compared to it. So

Wallace Stevens, the man with a mind of winter

Wallace Stevens, the man with a mind of winter

this haruspex doesn’t know what’s to come, or whether the omens are good or bad. The forces of disorder and selfishness seem strong — in the world, I meant, but perhaps within myself as well. Actually I’m afraid of what I would predict, could I do so. Nor am I cheerful, looking backwards. So, as we step across the threshold, let me hope instead.

Leave a Reply

