Drunken blondies (not what you’re thinking).

My fabulous French butter-melting birthday pot from Z is getting some work. I’ve made these blondies from Smitten Kitchen (originally from Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, which I have on my shelf, in fact) twice this week. Last week I made them for Carlos’s birthday (which was criminally short on dessert, so I was extra glad) and included 2 1/2 Tbs of Scotch, chocolate chips, and toasted coconut & chopped walnuts. I upped the vanilla and salt a bit, too. Big success, so tried again yesterday on a tropical theme with 1 Tbs of brandy, chocolate chips, coconut, and chopped dried ginger and pineapple. A touch of powdered ginger & a sprinkle of espresso powder. None of the flavors came through quite powerfully enough, though, so they’re good, but not as good as they should be. They are ripening, the brandy flavor opening up and the texture evening. (They’re unleavened so flat and dense by nature.) I gave some away to my neighbors and had some this evening, but there’s more for tomorrow and I’ll see if they get better.

Leave a Reply

