Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

This week’s baking, part 1, was these oatmeal chocolate chip cookies from Smitten Kitchen (she got them from Katy Sparks and Andrea Strong). They have a nice dose of spice and grated orange peel (clementine, in my case). I used walnuts instead of pecans and threw in a quarter cup of whole wheat flour, thinking it adds interest (but it’s really or nearly untastable), and made sure to use enough salt and an extra drop of vanilla. They came out really well. Even my skilled baker co-workers approved. My baking (and savory cooking too) have seemed to me to be under-seasoned lately, but these were strong enough.

I made them entirely by hand, too, not wanting to bother getting out the mixer.

Some were for me, some went to my downstairs neighbor for saving my life (knock, knock; “do you smell gas?” no, but looky here, the burner’s on but not on, thanks, John!), some went to work and I had a pan’s-worth to bake up today. Shall I bring them to the party I’m invited to tonight, or save them? I’ve baked a chocolate date cake for the party, maybe that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

