Cold butter.

I made some tasty scones, or sconelike things, for the singers yesterday.  I hunted over Tastespotting and looked at a bunch of recipes, finally keeping three open and relying most on Tartelette‘s for structure (as I had yogurt, not cream or buttermilk) and My Lovely Kitchen‘s for the apricot-rosemary idea.  I used a total of about two cups of flour, including a quarter-cup or so of corn flour, and reduced other quantities in an imprecise sort of proportion — four Tbs of butter, for instance, whirred rapidly with the flour in the food processor.  A couple of dried apricots, chopped, and a tablespoon of currants, all soaked in a bit of tea, got thrown in, and a little sprinkle of turbinado sugar on top sparked against the not-very-sweet (but quite moist) substance. I liked them, as did my friend T and the singing gang.

Leave a Reply

