Momentary preservation.

In the cool of the morning yesterday I made a little jar of pear-ginger conserve based on the recipe in Marisa McClellan’s book Food in Jars.

Photo on 2015-05-27 at 07.54(No, that’s not a properly sealed lid; I didn’t process it, I’ll just keep it in the fridge and use it up soon.) It’s good, though for some reason I expected it to be tangier than it turned out. McClellan’s formula includes chopped pear, half as much sugar, orange (I used tangelo) including the peel, lemon juice and zest, grated ginger, chopped walnuts thrown in toward the end.

Something else I made recently, but took no photos, and I feel uncomfortable discussing because I didn’t note the source, just jotted down an outline in my notebook: hazelnut crisps. These flourless wafers are kind of like non-puffy macaroons using the whole egg.  I baked a test batch and I’m glad I did, as they were far spreadier than I had guessed — so much so that one crept right off the edge of the baking sheet and landed in a charring lump on the bottom of the oven.  They also needed longer and hotter baking than the recipe proposed.  Once all that’s solved, they’re delicious.

Here’s my version: 1 egg; 1/2 cup sugar; scant 1/4 cup melted butter; 3/4 cup finely chopped hazel (or other) nuts; 1/2 tsp vanilla; pinch of salt. Oven 375º.  Whisk all together and let stand to thicken. Use a silicone mat or parchment; use a jelly roll pan if you are worried about cookies making a break for freedom. Drop small amounts, widely separated, and bake; after 10 minutes, pull out to separate and reshape. Bake another five to ten minutes or until they are browning nicely at the edges. Let cool and slide them off the paper. The cookies will be extremely thin.

2 thoughts on “Momentary preservation.

  1. […] remember that pear-ginger conserve I made, out of Melissa McClellan’s FOOD IN JARS book? Well, I made another recipe, […]

  2. […] whites and either nine ounces or some number of grams of nuts. Yes, I’ve been through this before. Well, I wasn’t going to crack an egg and a half and I measure in cups, so you can anticipate […]

Leave a Reply

